Anjaliom | what is Yoga

Home > Yoga > What is yoga

What is Yoga?

The study and observation of consciousness requires constant discipline to reduce or eliminate the external causes of mental agitation. For the gaze to turn inward, it must first detach itself from the outside. Thus, the negative feelings that cause uncontrolled waves of thoughts should be individuated and rejected: hatred, anger, lust should no longer find a place in the mind. 

In all forms of yoga, therefore, the study of consciousness is based on physical or moral practices, to create ideal conditions for the elevation of consciousness. 

qu'est-ce qu'est le yoga

The word “yoga” (from the Sanskrit root: योग, yuj, “to unite, harness, yoke”) brings together a variety of very ancient physical, mental and spiritual practices, the purpose of which is the control and pacification of movements . mind and thought .  

Yoga, a primary instrument of Indian spirituality for several centuries, is not specifically linked to a religious tradition. It is one of the six orthodox philosophical systems of India. It has been used over the centuries as a support and a means of seeking salvation, through techniques of asceticism and meditation which raise the practitioner to an understanding of the true nature of existence and bring him to the path of the release

The mechanisms of the mind

The " union " evoked by the word yoga, would therefore be that of man with the divine, but, first of all, it refers to making contact with the deeper aspects of consciousness , those which are normally hidden by the constant swirl of thoughts on the surface of the mind, and therefore remain invisible to us most of the time. 

Thoughts are generated by the simple contact of the mind with the outside world , through the sense organs : at every moment, our eyes, our ears, our nose, our tongue and our skin perceive and transmit information to us, each having a different impact on our ideas. A perfume can evoke a memory, an image can create a desire, a noise can bother us, etc.   Calming this number of “waves” of thought is, according to yoga,   essential for the purposes of spiritual progression . Once the delusions are gone, our view of reality becomes clearer and our actions sharper. With constant and dedicated practice, it can lead to true inner change, to a lucid, stable and balanced self-awareness in all life situations. 

The hygiene of life in yoga

Copyright Anjaliom© 2018. No reproduction, even partial, other than those provided for in article L 122-5 of the intellectual property code,

may not be made from this site without the express permission of the author.

Anjaliom | qu'est que le Yoga

Home > Yoga > Qu'est-ce que le yoga

Qu'est-ce que le yoga?

L’étude et l’observation de la conscience demandent une discipline constante pour réduire ou éliminer les causes extérieures de l’agitation mentale. Pour que le regard se tourne vers l’intérieur, il faut d’abord qu’il se détache de l’extérieur. Ainsi, les sentiments négatifs qui causent des vagues incontrôlées de pensées devraient être individués et rejetés : la haine, la colère, la convoitise ne devraient plus trouver une place dans le mental. 

Dans toutes les formes de yoga, donc, l’étude de la conscience s’appuie sur des pratiques physiques ou morales, pour créer des conditions idéales à l’élévation de la conscience. 

Le mot « yoga » (de la racine sanskrite : योग, yuj, “unir, atteler, mettre sous le joug») réunit une variété de très anciennes pratiques physiques, mentales et spirituelles, dont le but est le contrôle et la pacification des mouvements du mental et de la pensée.  

Le yoga, instrument primordial de la spiritualité indienne depuis plusieurs siècles, n’est pas spécialement lié à une tradition religieuse. Il est l'un des six systèmes philosophique orthodoxe de l'inde. Il a été utilisé au cours des siècles comme support et moyen de recherche du salut, à travers des techniques d’ascèse et de méditation qui élèvent le pratiquant à la compréhension de la vraie nature de l’existence et l’amènent sur la voie de la libération

Les mécanismes du mental

L’ « union » évoquée par le mot yoga, serait donc celle de l’homme avec le divin, mais, d’abord, elle se réfère à une prise de contact avec les aspects plus profonds de la conscience, ceux qui sont normalement cachés par le tourbillon constant des pensées à la surface du mental, et nous restent donc invisibles la plupart du temps. 

Les pensées sont engendrées par le simple contact du mental avec le monde extérieur, à travers les organes des sens : à chaque instant, nos yeux, nos oreilles, notre nez, notre langue et notre peau perçoivent et nous transmettent des informations, chacune ayant un impact différent sur nos idées. Un parfum peut nous évoquer un souvenir, une image créer un désir, un bruit nous gêner, etc.  Apaiser ce nombre de « vagues » de pensées est, selon le yoga, indispensable aux fins de la progression spirituelle. Une fois les perturbations mentales disparues, notre vision de la réalité devient plus claire et nos actions plus nettes. Avec une pratique constante et dévouée, cela peut amener à un vrai changement intérieur, à une conscience de soi lucide, stable et équilibrée dans toutes les situations de la vie. 

L’hygiène de vie dans le yoga

Copyright Anjaliom© 2018. Aucune reproduction, même partielle, autres que celles prévues à l'article L 122-5 du code de la propriété intellectuelle,

ne peut être faite de ce site sans l'autorisation expresse de l'auteur.